A Year and a Day

Image

Summary- Excerpt from Goodreads website -When Lynx de Warenne, Edward Plantagenet’s most prized warrior, invaded Dumfries castle, he took possession of Jane Leslie’s home–and soon wanted something more from the headstrong lass.  Desperate for an heir, he proposed a handfasting: a Scottish custom whereby a man can lawfully take a woman into his bed, then, after a year and a day, the couple can either wed or part.  Any child of that union is deemed legitimate.  Jane had no choice but to surrender to the invader’s knowing touch.  .  .  .

Fearless on the battlefield, Lynx was afraid to love.  But Jane slowly stole into his heart.  And as the fires of war raged around them, amid treacherous foes and brilliant intrigues, who would have thought that two such unlikely partners would fall in love–or that their breathless passion for each other would outlast .  .  .

 

My rating A I love this book and have read it probably 5 times. 

What I love- the characters are well developed and interesting. Lynx and Jane are just so easy to be happy for and to sympathize with. Also, Henley is amazing at creating a colorful background in the historical setting. It feels so real. 

What I didn’t like- This is certainly one of my favorite books but there are two big things I don’t love. First, Henley can go a bit overboard with the battle scenes and some of the history. There are paragraphs that I end up skipping because the detail is more then I need to enjoy the story. 

Second, near the end of the book Lynx is seriously wounded and Jane has to breastfeed him to help him survive. I am very pro breastfeeding (I breastfed my twins for almost their first year)  and the scene was not meant for titillation but it really threw me the first time I read it. It is just a very odd scene and I didn’t care for it. 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

