Growing Up Amish

Image

 

Summary- Ira tells the story of his life growing up in an Amish community and his ultimate decision to leave the Amish church.

My rating- B. I enjoyed this book. 

What I loved- The Amish are such an interesting culture. I really learned a lot of interesting stuff about them.

I also really sympathized with Ira’s journey. I also came from a very conservative religious background and choosing to leave that is so hard. I also have gone back and forth several times and have struggled in many of the ways Ira does as he tries to come to terms with his feelings about his parents faith.

What I didn’t like- There were just a few places where I felt like the narrator was revealing too much. Saying things like I didn’t know it but that would be my last time… I think I would have rather followed the narrator in his journey without knowing how it was all going to turn out until it did.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

