Review of The Dark Side of Genius

Image

 

This book looks at the life of Alfred Hitchcock and specifically explores what seems to be his sexual as well as toilet and food related obsessions.

My rating-C

What I liked- This book was very interesting. It asks many questions about Hitchcock and his art. It was a very interesting and often entertaining read.

What I didn’t like- I felt that the author tended to overemphasize Hitchcock’s weight when it wasn’t necessarily appropriate to the points he was making. Hitchcock’s obesity was certainly relevant in his relations with women and how he viewed himself. It was also a result of using food as a drug to heal emotional wounds. The problem was that the author often let his focus shift to Hitchcock’s weight when it had little or nothing to do with the topic at hand. He might say something like’ Hitchcock started filming (insert movie title) and at that time we weighed a grotesque…’

No one is arguing with the fact Hitchcock was overweight. But, I felt that the authors focus on the fact sometimes took away from the book. And, I am a plus size girl and hope that if ever someone writes a biography of me they will not say ‘While Jane was writing (insert book title here) she tipped the scales at an inflated….’ I would have to throw my fat free yogurt in their face if a biographer did that to me. 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

