Review of A Matter of Class

Image

 

Summary- Reginald needs a title. Annabelle’s father needs money. When Annabelle ruins her chances at marrying the rich and titled gentleman her father has in mind by running off with a stable boy, her father decides she will marry Reginald instead. Both Annabelle and Reginald seem resistant to the match but willing to do their duty. Things are not always as they seem

Rating- B

I really enjoyed this book. It was very short which is my primary complaint. I also was not nuts about the constant jumping from present to past. 

Overall though, I enjoyed the characters. They were funny and well developed. There is a scene in the book where Reginald and Annabelle are dancing and he asks her if she is a virgin which causes her to shoot back with “are you.” This scene in itself was humorous because Reginald says things such as this to get a rise out of Annabelle and “color her cheeks” but it becomes even more humorous later as we learn that they, in fact, are already very sure of the answer,

The surprise twist in this book was one that I did not expect until about halfway through. I do enjoy when I am surprised as few romance novels manage to surprise me these days. I would like to go back and reread the book one day and see how it would read different already knowing the end.

My favorite thing about this book was the humor and the characters. I especially like Reginald’s family. They are wealthy but not well bred. They lack many proper manners and make social mistakes that made the book fun. I also really enjoyed the overall focus on the character’s families. They made excellent secondary characters.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

