Review of “A Wife For Big John”

Image

Summary- Big John owns a lumber camp. When he comes back from a business trip after months away he discovers that man he hired to cook was actually a pretty petite girl named Danny. Danny needs a job. She is trying to make enough money to be rejoined with the man she has promised to marry but who she has not seen in many years. After a short time, Danny decides that Big John needs a wife.

This book was a DNF for me. I was listening to it on audio book and I got through disc 2 (roughly 1/4 through) and decided this book was not for me.

Let me say first that this author clearly did a lot of historical research and I really respected the historical details of this novel . Especially with things like appliances used. The author’s attention to setting details made it very comfortable to travel to the time of the novel.

My problems with the novel were mostly character related. I didn’t really like the characters nor could I really relate to them. The first scene we meet Danny in she is heroically delivering a baby. But after that she seems very young. Immature maybe. This was especially emphasized in the audio book version.

Big John finds Danny hot. But there doesn’t seem to be much else to him. 

The book places a huge emphasis on the differences in size of Danny and Big John and I found that distracting. It was almost like they shouldn’t be together because he was big and she was petite. Never mind the fact that she is engaged or anything like that. 

I also wasn’t sure what the ultimate level of sensuality in this book would be. I read everything from erotica to inspirational romances but I like to know which I am reading and what I should expect. Danny has them hold hands over the dinner table and pray so I was expecting something more along the lines of sweet or inspirational. But then Big John keeps getting sexually aroused and there is great emphasis placed on how he looks at her and it makes his penis happy (I believe tension in his groin was how it was put in the book). 

I can’t say this was an awful book. I just couldn’t get into it at all and there are too many books out there that I want to read so I didn’t spend time on a book I wasn’t feeling.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

