Review of A Love Apart

Image

 

Summary- Lily starts having strange dreams about a nun and a monk. She realizes that in a past life she was Heloise and the cute (gay) guy who walks into her bookstore was Aberlard.

My rating- DNF

I got this book from a goodreads giveaway. I made it to about page 85 and then I had to quit. I did skip to the end though and read the last few pages.

It was very well written but the book wasn’t a good fit for me. 

I should also say here that I don’t know the story of Heloise and Aberlard so knowing that could have changed my feelings about the book.

I wasn’t able to suspend disbelief particularly because the secondary characters seemed easily able to accept that Lily was Heloise. I just didn’t buy that. 

I had read the back of the book only and so I was unaware upon opening it that Julian was gay. As soon as that was revealed I got bored. Obviously, he and Lily could never be together in this life. For me, it ruined the tension of the story. 

I also was not uplifted by the ending which more or less said maybe they will get lucky in the next life and be together. If you have had two lifetimes and been unable to be together in either I think it is time to call it quits and try to find someone else. I also really hated that Lily was kind of holding out for Julian. She had been married but it hadn’t been a good fit. I didn’t feel hopeful that she could eventually find someone to love. It made me like the character a little less that she was so desirous of a man she had lost last time and this time. 

If you want to read this book I recommend knowing the history of Heloise and Aberlard. Also, go in knowing that Julian is gay. I think if I had done those things the story would have been a better read for me.

I would be interested to read other books by this author.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

