Review of A Christmas Bride

Image

 

Summary- Edgar (a wealthy but untitled man of 35) has promised his father he will find a bride by Christmas. While he is searching for love in the young girls who have recently come out he is seduced by Helena, a widow of his age. After a night of passion the widow finds herself with child. And Edgar decides to do the right thing. Even if he doesn’t particularly like Helena.

My rating- B

I know I said I was going to take a break from Balogh. And I really am. Soon. But I had a screaming three month old and tantruming toddler twins. Balogh was called for. 

This was one of her good ones. Not her best. But good enough that I was able to read it and keep interested even with the above mentioned distractions.

I was getting a bit bored with the woman gets pregnant and has to marry the guy story line. This was one of those. But, the way it was done was ok. There was no way these characters could have fallen in love otherwise. Other times the characters really liked eachother and maybe would have gotten together without a pregnancy. Not Helena and Edgar.

I really liked that Edgar was wealthy but untitled. It made him a much more interesting character. It also gave him slightly different values in the story than the members of the ton. His family was also really fun to read. Especially his father.

I liked Helena a little less. She kept making herself unhappy because she had done something very bad thirteen years before and believed she should suffer for it. The bad thing she did really didn’t seem to me to be quite bad enough that she thought she was beyond forgiveness and had to make herself suffer. But she was a fun character to read. Fierce and formidable. But with a heart of gold.

I would recommend this book to others. Especially those who want to feel the magic of Christmas. I really liked how much the power of Christmas played into this book.

And it was a fairly short read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

