Review of Forgiven (Book #3 of the Plain Fear Series)

Image

 

Summary- Samuel is trying to come to grips with murdering his brother. He goes on a journey to learn more. And he is being stalked by a vampire.

My rating C

First off the idea of mixing the Amish and Vampires was BRILLIANT. I was really excited to read this book.

This is book 3 in the series and I haven’t read the others. I wish I had because I felt pretty lost. I never really felt like I had been pulled into the story partly because there was so much back story that wasn’t well explained. 

If you think this series interests you I say start at the beginning. You will get so much more out of it.

I liked Samuel. I felt bad for the pain he was suffering. He is torn up about killing his brother even though it had to be done to save other people. I also liked how torn he was in the beginning of the book about his feelings towards his father and his uncertainty whether he should get baptized into the Amish faith. 

I have read many Amish books and this one did feel a bit weird. Maybe not Amishy enough. I didn’t feel pulled into the Amish lifestyle as I usually do in other books. Maybe more setting and cultural details would have helped that. There were some thrown in. Enough to remind you that the characters were Amish. But, the story, setting, and even the characters at times lacked the Amish feel I usually notice when reading Amish fiction.

Also, the book started out slow. It took me a long time to get into it and it never really became a page turner for me. I could easily let it sit on the nightstand for days. I do believe that if I had started at book #1 I might have found it easier to be sucked into the very interesting world that the author creates.

I received this book from a Goodreads giveaway.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

