A day of retail therapy

I love retail therapy. You probably know how it goes: I’m stressed about work so I should buy a new blouse; the kids are making me crazy so I deserve a nice book; boyfriend has forgotten to unload the dishwasher again so I need a new pair of shoes.

Well, today has been one of those days. I just needed to shop. Which would be great. Except that I am fairly broke this week.

In January I got a an old kindle. My sister had upgraded and so was happy to sell me her old version for $20. I had never used a kindle and I have to admit my first five or six attempts were failures. I HATED the thing. I mean HATED it. Then, I read the manual which solved a few of my problems. Then, I got on Amazon and went shopping for free books. Amazon and my Kindle became my best friends.

Today, when our neighbor was being a jerk; the scale was being unkind; and my poor baby was coughing and sniffling all over the place, I went shopping. For free books on Amazon. 

After two hours I felt pretty great. I didn’t spend a penny (so no added stress about overspending). I also had no physical books to add to the already near toppling piles on top of my bookshelves. We ran out of shelf space over a year ago because the local used bookstore has romance novels at 5 for $1. My boyfriend isn’t a reader so he doesn’t enjoy the books overrunning our room the way I do. This leads to arguments about rehoming the books. Which leads to stress. Which leads to retail therapy that usually involves a bookstore. It is a vicious cycle.

There was absolutely no guilt involved in my hours retail therapy. It was so amazing!!!

Amazon, I love you. I love your free books. And thanks to all the authors who had free books available for me to browse through today. 

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A day of retail therapy

  1. Arphaxad says:

    If you like free ebooks, go check out http://www.bookbub.com/ebook-deals
    You can 4-5 free books every day, most from Amazon.

  2. Thanks. I will check that out.

Leave a Reply

