Review of Storming the Castle

Image

 

Summary- Phillipa Damson has known she would marry Rodney since she was seven. As their wedding approaches she gives him her virginity. As she is getting up from the straw where she has just had a roll in the hay she realizes she doesn’t want to marry Rodney. So, she runs away to a nearby castle and falls in love with the butler, Wick, who was a secondary character in Eloise James’ A Kiss at Midnight.

My rating- D

Please note: I consumed this book as an audio book so my spellings are guesses and my not be quite in line with the book spellings for character names.

I was really surprised how good the ratings for this book were. I really hated it. I find Eloise James fairly hit or miss. Some of her stuff I love. Some I don’t care for. This is the first I really hated. Usually, even in her stories I don’t care for I can still see the stylistic and creative beauty that makes me keep coming back to James’ stories even though I know half will disappoint me.

This book should have been a novel itself. Not a short story. There was real potential in the story but it was so rushed. 

I really liked Wick in A Kiss at Midnight. I originally wanted the protagonist of that book to end up with him instead of his brother Prince Gabe. 

Wick has so much going for him as a character. He is the Princes’ half brother who was born on the wrong side of the blanket and has chosen to serve in his brother’s castle although he is educated above what a mere butler would be.

Philipa I just couldn’t like. Her reasons for suddenly not wanting to marry Rodney are fairly superficial. He has a fat bottom. He isn’t very smart. She didn’t enjoy sex with him even though it was both of their first times. She just comes off as kind of a bitch and very childish. 

She comes to the castle and gets in my saying she can save the life of the small prince Jonas who has Colic. Apparently, no one in the castle or surrounding areas could figure out that Jonas needed some water along with his milk because he was dehydrated. The castle physician couldn’t figure it out. Suddenly, Phillipa arrives at the castle with the answer which she knows after occasional rounding with her uncle. It just was too unbelievable. I could excuse it if I liked the characters or if the romance and later character actions rang true but mostly I wasn’t able to suspend my disbelief on this one. 

A Kiss at Midnight had flaws. But, it was still an okay read. Storming the Castle was a waste of my time!

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

