Interview with Shannon Cahill, Author of Not All Who Wander Are lost

Image

 

Book Description:

What’s the first thing you do when you are a 400 year old Elf Guardian who is being sent to protect a reckless, smart ass, smoking hot young mechanic who is destined to change the world? Visit a cobbler. Crimson knows you need a good pair of boots and a lot of self control for a job like that! 

But things are not always what they seem. Everyone has secrets, everyone has an agenda. Things are spiraling out of control. Can Finn and Crimson fulfill their entwined destinies and change the world?

 

Image

 

Interview with Shannon Cahill:

Q: How did you get the idea for Not All Who Wander Are Lost?
A: I was working on topics for NANOWRIMO and wrote the prologue. I was intrigued by the idea of an Elf with a complex about being too tall. The story just seemed to flow from there and I was hooked on reading it, so I had to write it, if that makes sense.
 
Q: How long did it take for you to write it?
A: I finished the main manuscript in 30 days, but spent another 2 weeks doing edits and rewrites before I was happy with it. I swear, I must have reread it at least 20 times. 
 
Q: Do you have any current projects that you are working on? If so, what are they and are they connected to Not All Who Wander Are Lost?
A: I am currently working on a new adult title about a sweet young girl who meets a bad boy rocker. The challenge will be keeping it fresh, but I think I have a good story to work from. It will be set vaguely in the early 90s. There will eventually be a another Crimson and Finn book, but I need to let them live their story in my head for  for awhile before I write it, because I think there will be some troubles coming their way that will test their love.
 
Q: What has most surprised you about your journey as an author?
A: I’ve been writing for what seems like my entire life, but I’ve had a hard time bringing things together for a novel. This story just flowed. I guess it was time. The most surprising thing, i think, was how much fun it was. Some of my earlier attempts became so much like work that I just set them aside after awhile. This time, like i said before, I became so caught up in the story that I wanted to read it myself. Once I decided that I needed to know what happened next, it wasn’t work anymore, it was fun.
 
Q: If you could have any author, living or dead, read your book and love it who would it be?
a: I’ve been inspired by the styles of Gerry Bartlett and Mary Janice Davidson. I think if either of them was to read my book and like it, that I would feel like I had accomplished what I set out to do.
 
Q: How do you manage to find time to write with kids and other family responsibilities?
A: In the past, I have had a hard time staying motivated because I had a job and my husband and kids to take care of. I’m not working right now, instead, I’m in a medical secretary program and staying home with the kids, so I’ve had more time. My kids were actually really understanding and thought it was cool that Mama was working on her book. It helps that they are older.  I also made a deal with myself where I rewarded myself with writing time after doing chores instead of putting them off. That really helped reduce pressure and stress. I think I actually got more housework done while I was writing this book than usual!
 
Q:What advice would you give to new authors?
A: Find a story that speaks to you and go for it! Once the words are there, the most important thing is editing. I am an insatiable reader and have read many Indie books that would have been so much better with some editing. The story is important, but remember to shape it. Ideas change from the beginning of a book to the end, and consistency is key. The first 3 drafts of my book were spent cleaning up little details and inconsistencies. Remember to read your book as a reader at least once. Ask yourself how you would rate it if you didn’t write it, and most importantly, get someone to help. I had great beta readers who were not afraid to tell me if they hated something, and that made a big difference.
About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

