Week 1 updates- My journey to Become a Professional Author

Week 1 of my journey is almost over.

This week I self published a short non fiction book under a pen name. I used Kindle Direct Publishing and enrolled it in the KDP select program. The first five days it was out I had NO sales. So, I am hosting a giveaway. Hoping that encourages sales and reviews.

6 more books to go to reach 10!

I also received my very first ever royalty check. It was from audible. During it’s first month my audio book Educating Autumn made $25! Nowhere near the $2000 a month I need to replace my income but I was still tickled pink by the small success of it.

This week I read a really good book that I would recommend to other new ebook writers. Book was called How to Self Publish on Amazon Profitably. (http://www.amazon.com/How-Self-Publish-Amazon-Profitably-ebook/dp/B00FV8LQAY/)

The main thing the author talked about was being prolific. The more books you have on Amazon the more Amazon helps you to market. I wasn’t aware of that. I am thinking that the more KDP select books you have the more assistance you get from Amazon as well.

So, I think I am going to plan to enroll each of my books in KDP Select in the foreseeable future. At least for the first 3 months. I originally published using Smashwords and was hesitant to use the KDP program.

The truth is that Smashwords is overall easier to use and the dashboard especially is much more user friendly. I also love that with Smashwords you can generate coupons which allows easy giveaways on library thing and to friends.

 But overall, Amazon sells better. And, Amazon has a cover creator tool that I love.

What has your self publishing experiences been? KDP fan? Loyal to Smashwords?

  

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

