Review of Ten Things I Love About You

Image

Summary- Annabel Winslow needs to marry a wealthy man. FAST. After her father died her family fell into poverty and she has seven brothers and sisters depending on her. Annabel is attractive enough that finding a man to marry isn’t the problem. The problem is that the man she wants to marry has nothing. No title. No wealth.

Sebastian is the nephew of the wealthy old earl who wishes to marry Annabel. Sebastian appears to be a lazy gentleman living on a very small allowance. In fact, he has a secret identity as a writer of Gothic novels that brings in a nice income. He just can’t tell anyone. Not even Annabel who he finds himself desperately attracted to.

 

My rating- B

I really enjoyed this book. Sebastian was an amazing character. I love male romance writers as characters. He was very attractive to me and I wished I could have pulled him out of the pages and into my living room. He would make any woman a fine companion. Especially a female novelist.

Annabel was a good character who was torn between her needs and her duties to her family. For some reason I can’t put my finger on I didn’t love her as a character. I think she was too much the victim at times. Too willing to marry the ugly old earl instead of looking at her options and trying to save herself.

I didn’t think it was fair for the author to put so much emphasis on the ugliness and fatness of the earl. Fat and ugly people need love too. I have read several romance novels where the hero is ugly or deformed. I am glad the writer made him lecherous as well otherwise I would have really felt sorry for the old earl. I thought more focus should have been on the earl being a bad person and less on his appearance.

This book had many funny moments and was very entertaining.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

