Review of So Your College Degree is Worthless: A Guide to Surviving Post College with a Useless Degree

Image

 

Summary- A non fiction book about the business of college and what to do when you have a useless degree.

My rating: C

I had really mixed feelings about this book. I thought some of the information was interesting. Particularly, I wasn’t aware how many people have useless degrees. I am one of those people. I have an associate’s degree in Health Information Management. In college I was taught about coding and billing as well as being prepared to be a manager of a medical records department. I have a job in my field. I scan paper medical records into the computer. Not at all the job I got educated for nor the pay I hoped for. It was nice to hear that I am not alone.

My issues with this book were more about the author. She was very angry and in some ways had a really bad attitude that came through in the writing. It was not objective writing at all. In places I wondered if the authors attitude issues were part of the reasons she was having so much trouble finding a job. I admit she had every reason to be angry but the level of anger seemed inappropriate for a book I was hoping would teach me how to get past being screwed by college.

It wasn’t until halfway through the book that the author even started to give advice about what to do once you had the crappy degree.

I didn’t feel she actually gave much advice that was helpful for that situation and of course that was why I picked up the book.

Some good information but not a life changer.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

