Week 3- My Journey to Become an Author

For first time readers- Hi. I’m Jane. February 2013 I self published my first novel. I decided that in 2014 I would work to become a professional author and replace at least half of my 20k a year income with royalties from my books. By the end of 2014 I plan to have no less then 10 books available for kindle. I currently am at 4 of 10 (under 3 names). This blog is my attempt to share my journey, learn from those who have gone before, and help others on the writing journey to find their way.

 

Hi all. This post is a bit early but I have so much going on that I worried if I didn’t get this post in that I wouldn’t post this week.

It has been a super busy writing week. I realized that in the near future I am going to need cover art and illustrations for a low cost. So, I became a member of Fiverr. For anyone not familiar with the site it is a place where talented people agree to do “gigs” for $5. The site actually takes $1 so the seller only makes $4 per transaction. I decided that I would post several “gigs” to try to make money for cover art for my future books as well as illustrations for my children’s books.

One of my posted gigs is writing a custom (erotic) story. To my delight I have had 4 orders this week. That means I have been busy writing short custom stories. I have enough for 3 pieces of artwork! It sucks that it takes me away from my primary writing but it is also nice to test my skills and talent. To see my gig go to:http://fiverr.com/authorjanebnigh/write-a-custom-erotic-story

Since Valentine’s day is coming up I decided to use my KDP free days this week for Educating Autumn.

Image

http://www.amazon.com/Educating-Autumn-After-Explosion-Night-ebook/dp/B00BQJZHYI

My giveaway will run from 2/13 to 2/17.

So far I have not had much luck with giveaways. In November I did a giveaway for Singing the Last Song and got approx 200 downloads. Those led to zero reviews and no noticeable increase is sales of Educating Autumn which is book 2 in the series.

Both books have gotten new covers and descriptions since then.

Last time I only advertised my free book on my blog, twitter, and my facebook page. This time though I put more leg work into it.

I used this site: http://www.trainingauthors.com/47-places-to-submit-your-free-kdp-promotion-for-your-kindle-ebook/ to find places to promote my books. I sent requests to everyone appropriate on the list. Many of them probably will not list my novel because they give priority to people who donate or buy their services and I wasn’t able to do that at this time. But, I am hoping to have at least one or two put me on their list.

Here is what I am hoping to accomplish with the giveaway (and how I will measure it’s success):-I want 500 + downloads

-I want 5% of my downloads to lead to reviews

-I want at least 5% of those who download Educating Autumn to buy Singing the Last Song

-I want 5% of my downloads to lead to blog, twitter, or goodreads followers

-I want 1% of my downloads to lead to an audio book sale

Before the event I am going to check over my manuscript for any punctuation and grammar errors me and my 2 editors missed (I saw at least 2). And, I want to add advertising for Singing the Last Song and my books planned for summer in the back.

February 16 Createspace is running their 2014 Breakthrough Novel Contest. I am going to be entering my historical romance Wedding the Widow. So, I have to perfect my pitch in preparation (for more info on the contest visit http://www.amazon.com/b?node=332264011)

So much to do! I have several late nights full of caffeine in my future! I have to juggle editing Educating Autumn and adding back matter, writing 2 gigs for fiverr clients, and perfecting my pitch for Wedding the Widow this week. All while working full time and taking care of two toddlers. If there is a will there is a way!

 

Anyone have any advice to make the most out of giveaways?

Anyone know of any sites similar to Fiverr where writers can offer custom services for a fee?

Thanks for reading. I will be back next week with updates!

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

