Interview With Laura Brown About Her New Book Lila’s Choice

Image

Summary of Lila’s Choice (Taken from Amazon) Never let your friends get involved in your personal life. 

Lila and Nate learn this the hard way. They are the star-crossed lovers of Glendale High. For three years the students have waited for the two to get together. They begged Nate to put his past relationship behind him, and cringed when Lila started dating Bryce. Just your typical teenage romance, except they’re the teachers. 

Lila, a guidance counselor with a sweet demeanor, has an answer for every problem, every problem but her own. A visit from childhood friend Bryce thrusts her calm world into turmoil, as emotions buried deep inside are dragged to the surface. He soon realizes what only a friend can notice and a lover regret, that Lila, unbeknownst to herself, is in love with Nate. 

Nate has seen better days. He is a history teacher stuck living in the past. Depression has kept his love for Lila unspoken, his ego frail after being cheated on. 

Now Lila and Nate’s coworkers must unleash a scheme and uncover Lila’s true feelings. In a school this nosey what better way to get fast results than to involve the student population? The students are all too eager to get involved. 

If everything goes as planned Lila will have to choose between two men. If her friends fail they might destroy these three and ruin their friendship. No wonder the scheme is called Project Torture.

Interview

Questions are asked by Jane B Night.

Answers are given by Laura Brown

Q: What gave you the initial idea for Lila’s choice?

 

A: This is a little embarrassing, but the original idea for Lila’s Choice came from writing fan fiction back in college. I was (and still am) in love with the television series Frasier, specifically the Niles/Daphne storyline. I wrote one story where the plot was my own, using the characters. After I graduated I had the urge to write a novel and while in the story creation process thought of this one story. I set about creating my own characters and removing as much of the “fan” as possible, basically anything that wasn’t dependent on the ultimate storyline.

Q: Have you always wanted to be a writer?

 

A: I always enjoyed writing, but I didn’t always think about penning my own novel. In my younger years I thought I would become an actress. I learned early on that I much preferred being behind the scenes, and able to watch everything. I like the control a writer has over a story, over the characters, and the ability to create that world.

Q: Are you working on any more books at the moment? If so, are they also romance?

 

A: Yes. I have several books in process, and even more ideas simmering. Most of my ideas are in the romance vane, from sweet love story, like Lila’s Choice, to steamy romance. My two biggest projects include a second novel to Lila’s Choice (I plan for this to be a three book series), and a steamy romance series involving social workers.

Q: What draws you to the romance genre?

 

A: I’m a hopeless romantic. I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t drawn to a romantic plot line. With romance you have two people finding a connection in each other, a piece of them that was missing, a completion. I love seeing that happen, and as a writer creating that connection. I believe in soul mates and get a real kick out of pairing up my characters.

Q: Did your high school experiences play any part in the writing of Lila’s choice?

 

A: My high school experiences play very little, if any, part in writing Lila’s Choice. I am technically a high school drop out. I left high school after my sophomore year and became a freshman at Simon’s Rock College, the only college for younger students. I march to the beat of my own drum, take the path less chosen, and was ready to move forward with my ambitions, even if they were still being fleshed out. The students I write about in Lila’s Choice are juniors or seniors, something I never was. I did have some wonderful teachers that inspired the characters of Lila’s Choice. The setting stems from my degree in Deaf Studies from Boston University, in the School of Education. I took some basic teaching classes and at the age of twenty-two when I started writing, felt that between my limited knowledge of high school, and my experiences in my teaching classes, I was in a good position to walk the line in-between student and teacher.

Q: If you had to make Lila’s choice between Nate and Bryce which man would you choose?

 

A: Oohhh, good question! And a very hard one as well. There are traits in both Nate and Bryce that I love. In the end I would have to choose Nate. He has a rough past and I’m a softy for someone who makes my heart ache. Nate is someone I want to give a big hug to. On the other hand, Bryce is a redhead, and while that might make me strange, I really like redheads.

Q: Has your hearing loss had any impact on you as a writer? 

 

A: Yes it has. My hearing loss has never been a disability for me, it’s always been a part of who I am, like my hair color or the shape of my nose (which I’d change before I changed my ears!). I have a goal to have at least one character with a hearing loss in all my books. In Lila’s Choice I have several, a supporting character who is a CODA (Child Of Deaf Adults), a Deaf adult, and three Deaf students (I use a capital D to denote someone who is culturally Deaf). It is important to me to spread awareness, and by including characters with a hearing loss I hope to do that in a way that not in my readers faces. 

 

Thanks Laura for your time!

 

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

