Review of Ugly Babies

Image

Summary (from Amazon)-

There’s nothing quite like the birth of a child. Children are born in our likenesses… we treasure their beauty, their innocence, and marvel as they take their first breaths outside of their mother’s womb. In a perfect world, babies are miracles. But as we know, the world is not always perfect.

JWK Fiction brings you a collection of poetry, flash fiction and short stories dealing with beginnings that maynot be as rosy as everyone around us often seems to think newborns are. 

My rating-I did not finish this book

 

I have a confession to make. I found this book equally brilliant and disturbing.

Here is a quote:

With a twist the maggot turned

where it lay on the floor

and started crawling towards it’s mother.

Never more, she thought

will I seek my pleasure

among the rotten corpses,

the fly infested cadavers,

lying in the cemetery.

I couldn’t finish reading the book much after that. It did seem borderline brilliant and a very artistic part of my self was excited by the brilliance  of the writing. But, the subject matter was just way too much for me. In the end, I just couldn’t go there. To potential readers, I would say, go forth with caution.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

