My Journey to Becoming a Full Time Author- Week 9

For anyone new to my blog- I am really pushing myself so I can cut back to working part time and have writing bring in half my income. I am a mom of twins and I want to have much more time at home.

 

So, I wish I could say this week has been super productive. But, it would be a half truth. I finished writing a short story on Sunday. That was great. Monday, things started to go downhill. Mondays are my Fridays since I am off work Tues and Wed. So, I decided I was going to sleep in since I didn’t want to start a new writing project Mon and not get back to it until Thurs. Tues and Wed are SUPPOSED to be my editing days.

Tues and Wed were also full days and editing did not happen either of those days either.

I did however get some marketing done Mon, Tues, and Wed. I am using my KDP select free days this weekend for Singing the Last Song. I have contacted everyone who reviewed Educating Autumn for me to let them know that a tie in book would be free this weekend. I also contacted several book reviewers with the same message. I really feel that Singing the Last Song isn’t going to do well until I get some reviews. So, I am trying to push for that at the moment.

I also set up a giveaway for my book 11 Mistakes Couples Make During Deployments. I contacted several blogs run by army wives asking them to announce my giveaway on their site. That giveaway will be the first week in April.

Both of my promo books as well as Educating Autumn will be removed from KDP select once their 90 days is up and added to Smashwords. I think KDP select is an amazing program and it has helped my numbers very much but I really want to be sure my books are available on every platform I can manage.

I often feel very torn about whether my time is best spent writing or marketing. I have so little time and it is a constant source of frustration for me.

I am hoping next week I can stay focused on producing more words. I haven’t decided which writing project I want to start next but I will need to choose by 5am tomorrow morning when I sit down to write. There are about 3 that are front runners. I have a m/m romance related the my book Educating Autumn. In the book I presented Joel and Andy who were doctors and lovers. They were secondary characters but I think I want to give them their own short story.

I also want to write some books on writing. I have started a book on the mistakes beginning writers make. It is fully outlined and I do like it. But, I also want to write a book of creative writing lessons for homeschoolers and a book to help first time writers write their first novel.

Not sure which project will win in the end.

If any of my readers would like to announce my giveaway of Singing the Last Song on their blogs/social networks I would be uber grateful.

As always, if you have any questions for me I can be emailed at authorjanebnight@yahoo.com

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

