My Journey to Becoming a Professional Author- Week 11

For new readers- I am trying to replace at least half of my current income from working with income from writing.

Lots of changes made this week! Some, I am really excited about. So, we shall see what happens overall.

Firstly, I cut back my hours at work a bit. Several people were being sent home because there isn’t enough work at this time for everyone. So, my boss was perfectly happy to temporarily let me cut back my work load by 4 hours. I will still be a full time employee with complete benefits. She and I were able to rearrange my schedule so that I am working 4 days a week instead of five. In addition to the four hours I get back by not working I also get an additional 2 for the commute. So, I just added 6 hours to my week that I can devote to writing.

I also cut back to 1 fiverr gig. Fiverr is an amazing site but I literally was getting so much freelance work that I had no time to devote to MY writing this week. If I had no outside job it would be an amazing thing to do. And, I am using all the money I earn to buy cover art and proofreading for my books. But, I can’t do everything and getting my books written right now is more important to me than the extra money I can make on Fiverr. I think I have enough from my last gigs to last me at least for the next 2 months or so. After that, I can reevaluate if needed.

I still have 7 gigs in my queue that I need to finish this week.

I finished listening to two of the audiobooks I have been working with narrators on. One is waiting on ACX to approve it then it will go live. Hopefully next week. The other needed some changes so I am awaiting those.

I also paid for proofreading of my next ebook and got the corrected copy back. Plan to make necessary changes this week and put it live as an ebook by next week. Already bought the cover and love it.

Image

One issue I am having in preparing for the release of Her Forever Husband is pricing. My full length novels are priced at $2.99. Her forever husband is 12,000 words long. So, I am not sure if it should be priced at $0.99 or $1.50. I think I will sell more at $0.99 but the money made will be very small. I can use it as a loss leader. The main issue is that I plan on having several books around that size and I have real concerns about having so many books priced at $0.99 especially when my main goal is to have my full income from writing.

I have read up on this topic and it seems authors are very divided.

One book I read said that the best marketing strategy is to have hundreds of $0.99 books available. All around 10k words. Another writer I read said he puts out a book a week, all around 10k words and all priced at $2.99. That allows for the maximum return since Amazon allows you to earn 75% on sales $2.99-$9.99. Writers earn 35% if priced outside of that range.

Any thoughts on what has worked best for you?

I am hoping that with my new work schedule I will be able to put out books more prolifically.

Once that happens my primary concern will be marketing and getting them into the hands of readers through giveaways and other marketing attempts.

This week I ran a giveaway of 11 Mistakes Couples Make During Deployments. I was a bit disappointed because my total giveaways were around 150. Not at all the numbers I had hoped. But, I am going to try to stay positive. Hopefully I will get a few reviews and potential readers will see it on their recommended reading pages on Amazon.

Hopefully, those changes will all help me reach my writing goals.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Journey to Becoming a Professional Author- Week 11

  1. Harliqueen says:

    Pricing is always a tricky thing, but you can change it can’t you, if you find one way isn’t working?

    • I can change them if need be and I have in the past. I guess my concern is that the release of a new book is an extra special time when it is easiest for customers to spot. Amazon kind of spotlights new books I guess. So, first few days of sales it will be really helpful to have best price point.
      But, I am still learning and am sure as I continue on this journey I will have more concrete ideas about price.

Leave a Reply

