Review of: The Science of Sin

Image

Summary- A non fiction book about the positive aspects of the seven deadly sins.

My rating: A

I really found this book fun and entertaining as well as educational. The book goes over the seven deadly sins (wrath, avarice, sloth, pride, lust, envy, and gluttony) and shows the positive sides to them.

According to the book, the seven deadly sins were originally created to keep monks living in monasteries in line. But, in modern life there are very positive effects of each of the sins.

Anger (wrath), for instance, can help change bad aspects of society.

If no one ever got angry about anything, people would never rally for changes in society. Without anger at the mistreatment of children, there would have been no minor labor laws that prevented children from working in factories and being maimed and killed.

Anger , and the physical signs and expressions of anger also encourage people to compromise with us. If my boyfriend wants to play a video game instead of taking out the trash, my angry expression and shouting is much more likely to get him off his butt than a string of polite pleases.

Pride is a positive emotion when we feel good about the things we have done and feel a sense of accomplishment. It encourages people to work hard to succeed. As a writer, I take a lot of pride in my work and I feel an amazing sense of pride when I hold a new paperback in my hands. That feeling helps motivate me to start the next book.

Those examples are just a few of the ways that “Sin” is good for you. This was a really fun read and I recommend it to anyone interested in psychology and religion.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

