Don’t Know What Task to do Next- Self Publishing is Busy!

Image

One of my biggest challenges right now is figuring out what needs to be done next regarding self publishing. I currently publish on Createspace, KDP, ACX, and Smashwords. I have three books which are no longer KDP select and that I need to add to Smashwords. I am in the process of uploading ALL of my books (currently 15 under multiple pen names) to createspace. I also have at least one book that needs to be added to ACX so that narrators can audition for it.

That is all the distribution side of things.

I also have 5 manuscripts that need a final edit before being sent to a proofreader. I just got cover art back from my designer for 3 of them so I am feeling a bit of urgency there.

Then, I have over 30 freelance gigs to do on Fiverr. I am actually thinking about quitting fiverr for the time being (which is not helping me be motivated at all). I have been doing lots of ghostwriting and I am feeling like I would be better off just publishing for myself.

I have a novel I am halfway through and about a dozen other projects that really want to be done and I have only the most basic outlines for.

The sad thing is that I only get a limited amount done per day even on the best of days as I also am a mother of toddlers whose needs I must meet. And, there is a household to run as well.

I don’t really know which tasks I should be concentrating on. Part of me remembers the saying that a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush which makes me think that taking books I already have and making them available on all distribution channels should be my first task. But, that also feels a bit like a cop out because even though it is time consuming it is fairly easy and I don’t really feel like I am doing much.

Any experienced self publishers have any advice about where priorities should lay?

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

