Review of Watership Downs

watership downs

Plot Summary-
Watership Downs tells the tale of a group of rabbits who leave their home colony, called a warren, and set up their own colony in a place called Watership Downs. The rabbits face many trials and tribulations as they attempt to start a new life in a new place.

My rating: A

I have to say that the book started slow and had I been reading a paper version of it instead of listening to an audio version of the book I would probably have put it down. I am glad I didn’t. The book had fun characters who I fell in love with and really came to care about. Once they arrived at Watership Downs I was fascinated by the difficulties they faced and the solutions they arrived at (all, the author assures during the introduction, physically within the realm of possibility for a rabbit).
I can understand why this book is a classic that has lasted through time.
Parents, be warned there is quite a bit of violence and some vague references to bunny breeding. Nothing that would prevent me from letting my middle grade child read the book but parents should be aware of it just the same.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

