Review of Family Tree

family tree

Summary- A white couple has a baby with African American features. The parents begin to look into their family tree and what they discover will shake the world as they know it.

My rating: A-

This book grabbed me and dragged me in. It is the first audiobook I have brought home and listened to on the couch after work while the children watched cartoons. Normally, I can leave an audiobook at work to continue my next day.

I loved the questions this book raised about how we feel about race as well as how we view race.

I also really enjoyed the characters. The family really rang true to me, particularly the extended family that was worried about how things “looked”. I have family members like that who feel like it is a personal affront to them if you choose to be different from how they think you should be.

I also questioned my own feelings about bigotry and racism. I grew up in a small town without much racial diversity. I now work in a much more diverse city but there is still a feeling like those who are black and who are white are different. I still see race, even though I wish I didn’t and I certainly don’t consider myself racist.

There were a few negatives of this book.

Firstly, I thought some of the side plots were rather pointless. I also thought a few things in the book were fairly far fetched. If you can suspend disbelief, this is a really good read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

