Review of Mary Poppins (Book)

Summary- The four Banks children find themselves with a very unusual nanny.

My rating- C

I have to start off this post by saying that I am probably a bit biased by the fact I have seen and love the Walt Disney version of Mary Poppins and this book was very far removed from the movie. I wasn’t expecting that when I got the book and found that disappointing. Particularly, the movie has a very good moral which was about children needing their parents. The book has no such moral ending and I have to say that I wasn’t sure there was much point at all to the whole story.  Mary Poppins shows up. The Banks children experience a variety of supernatural events. Mary Poppins leaves.

Mary Poppins in the book is a mysterious and rather cross woman. The warmth from the movie never really comes across in the book. There is also no concrete explanation of who Mary Poppins is or why she is there. In many ways, she is little more than a bundle of contradictions.

I can see how this book would be a fun read for small children as it does detail some pretty interesting adventures like going to the zoo on a special day when the animals are treating humans how they are usually treated.

As an adult though, I didn’t care for this book.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Review of Mary Poppins (Book)

  1. D.L. Kamstra says:

    Ever since I saw Walt Disney’s “Saving Mr. Banks” I’ve thought about picking up these books. While, I’m not sure how much is fact or fiction in how that movie portrays how the movie version of “Mary Poppins” was created, it pointed out a number of things that may have been quite different from the book.

    I wonder if you may have enjoyed the book a bit more if you knew it would be so different? I figure that when I get around to it, I’ll have to try to forget all I know about the movie.

Leave a Reply

