Review of DNA USA

DNA USA

Summary- This book talks about the genetic make-up of people in the United States.

My rating: A

First off, I need to confess that I listened to this as an audiobook and I would recommend that for pacing if nothing else. This is a very interesting book on a very interesting topic.

My dad is big into genealogy and that certainly had some impact on why I enjoyed this book so much. One of the topics the book covers is using DNA to help with genealogy when a family has followed the paper record as far back as possible. At times, the paper record may even be proved inaccurate or incomplete by DNA analysis (such as when one believes all their ancestry is European but it turns out they have African or Native American DNA.

Sykes is amazing at making fairly complicated science simple enough for the average person. You don’t have to be a scientist or have a scientific background to enjoy this book which I think is a huge plus.

I need to confess that this is the second book of Sykes I have read and I honestly plan to read them all because I love his writing style and I also find the topic so interesting.

Just be warned that after reading this book you will probably want to get your DNA analyzed. I sure do. Fortunately, Sykes gives info about commercial companies that offer that service.

This is a really good read and I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in their family history.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

