Review of The Dirt on Clean

dirt on clean

First off, I need to apologize for my absence. My father recently had hip replacement surgery and my twins are potty training. Between all those factors, a full time job, and writing; my blogging has fallen behind.

Summary- The dirt on clean is a non-fiction book about personal hygiene through history. From the Roman baths all the way to our present cultural views on hygiene, this book looks at how and why people have cleaned themselves throughout history.

My rating: B

I really enjoyed the history in this book. This is an incredibly interesting topic and reading the book gave me a somewhat new perspective on how we look at cleanliness and also how we judge historical people.

Many of us have the idea that everyone in history was gross and stinky and that our modern bathing rituals are new and super civilized but those things are not necessarily true.

I enjoy non fiction books about various history topics so this book is something I was very eager to read. While I enjoyed the content, I have to say I found the writing just a bit on the dry side. This was not a page turner for me and it took me almost a month to get through just because I didn’t feel it particularly calling to me when I left it; particularly once I passed the Medieval Age section.

This book is worth reading but for the interesting content but just be aware that it might be a challenge to get through if you are easily bored/distracted.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

