Review of Sugar Cookie Murder

sugar

Summary- Hannah Swensen is a small bakery owner who has put together a cook book of recipes from the people in her town. They get together at a large party to test out the recipes and everything is going well until a murder and snow storm combine to make the holiday a little less merry.

My Rating B-

This is the second Hannah Swensen mystery I have read and I actually started this one (on audio) while I was already reading the Lemon Meringue Pie Murder on paperback. I liked the Lemon Meringue Pie Murder a little better than this one so I was glad I read them more or less together.

I really love the characters and I think the series is worth reading for them if nothing else. In this book, I didn’t really care for the mystery. I won’t spoil anything but basically I thought it was disappointing and the author could have taken it so many ways that would have been better. There were so many great clues but very few of them actually had anything to do with the murder.

I also don’t like the love triangle that Hannah is part of. She is casually dating Norman and Mike. Norman is this totally sweet guy who she is more friend than girlfriend with. Then, there is Mike who is totally hot and makes her crazy but who can really be a jerk at times. In this book particularly when she tries to tell him what she has learned and he shuts her down I really hoped that would help her see how great and supportive Norman kept being but it seems Hannah barely noticed.

If you are just starting to read the series DO NOT start with this book. If you are reading it as part of the series enjoy the characters but know ahead of time that the mystery was lukewarm at best.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

