Review of Surrounded by Love: A Story of Orphans and Family

surrounded

Summary- Twin sisters are given up for adoption and find love in their new home. I believe this is a memoir.

My rating C-

I was really torn about how to rate this because I am not sure if this book really just was bad or if it wasn’t for me.

I love the idea behind it. Twins and adoption are two topics I am really passionate about so I was excited to read the book.

The quality of writing was fair overall.

My biggest complaint about the book was the pacing and what seemed like a lack of structure. It felt like the writer went from instance to instance but they didn’t feel very tied together and I felt like overall there wasn’t a strong thread holding the story together either. It felt more like “this happened, then this happened, and then this happened” instead of  smoothly flowing scenes all tied together. I felt like the abruptness and lack of an easily definable common thread made the book hard to read and I feel like it really took away from the story the author was trying to tell.

If you can get past the awkward writing there are some great scenes and very tender moments in the story.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

