Review of Death of a Dog Whisperer

Death of a Dog Whisperer

Summary-Melanie is a poodle enthusiast. When she is introduced to Nick Walden, a man with an uncanny ability to understand animals, she is happy to introduce him to her Aunt Peg and other members of the dog community. Melanie and Nick’s friendship is just blossoming when he is suddenly murdered. Everyone who knew Nick is devastated and several people ask Melanie to investigate because she has solved mysteries in her town.  Baby on hip and dog on leash, Melanie makes it her business to unravel the complex web of lies that led to Nick’s death.

Rating B

I really loved the characters in this book. I am a dog lover too so I felt a kinship to most of the main characters. I also loved how big a part Melanie’s family and kids played in the story. I really felt like I got to know them and like them. This was the first Melanie Travis mystery I have read but I would definitely read more of them.

If you love dogs and kids you will probably enjoy this book. Just don’t expect anything super amazing from the mystery. Don’t get me wrong, it wasn’t a bad mystery book but the mystery part did not blow me out of the water either. I didn’t know who did it until the  end and honestly I was a bit lukewarm about the solution.

I would recommend this to other cozy mystery readers.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

