Review of Murder on the Orient Express

Murder on the Orient Express (Hercule Poirot, #10)

Summary- Poirot happens to be riding on the Orient Express when a fellow passenger is murdered. As there is reason to believe that the killer is still on the train, Poirot launches an investigation.

My Rating 4/5 stars (for those who have been following me for a while I have decided to do stars instead of letter grades because it converts better when I share on Amazon and Goodreads).

This is only the second book by Christie I have read and I am again enchanted by her style. The other book I read was And Then There Were None. Murder on the Orient Express was a bit harder to read because it had some references to European things that I wasn’t totally familiar with and possibly period things as well but that didn’t take away my enjoyment of the work.

Poirot is brilliant and I really loved him. It was interesting how he didn’t have the answer right away and seemed stumped at some places but then finally worked it out. I prefer when the detective has to figure things out slowly.

I did not guess the ending so I was very surprised by how things turned out though I wasn’t crazy about the solution. It reminded me too much of And Then There Were None in some ways that I can’t get into without unnecessary spoilers. I also don’t know if I felt that justice was done in the end.

I can say that I look forward to reading other works by Christie and while I don’t know that I will become the level of fan many other mystery readers are, I do expect she will become one of my go to authors when I am not sure what to read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

