Review of Murder Freshly Baked

Murder Freshly Baked

Summary- In an Amish Artisan Village, bad things are happening. A man is murdered and pies keep showing up with poetry that indicates a poisoner loose in the village.

My rating 3/5

I had mixed feelings about this book. I want to start by saying that I really loved the characters. Preston, who is a veteran suffering from PTSD was my very favorite. I loved his story and I really felt for him. I also felt like I learned quite a bit from reading this book (I had no idea that service dogs could be trained to help combat PTSD).

This was the first book in the series that I read and I felt like the first chapter threw me in the deep end and hoped I could swim. I almost put down the book after the first chapter because it felt like too much too fast. The murder takes place in the first chapter and then the rest of the book goes back to show you what led up to it. I didn’t really like that format. I was expecting more of a cozy mystery where I could get to know the characters before anyone died.

The book also had three characters whose stories are followed and I felt like that was a bit much. Again, I am a huge fan of cozy mysteries where there is usually just one POV and this is more preference than anything else. With three characters and their lives it just felt like too much was going on and I couldn’t really get close to any of them because of it.

The other complaint I had was just that I expected it to be more Amish. I really love Amish romances and was excited to enjoy an Amish mystery. Only one of the main characters is Amish and I felt a little let down by that. Again, that is not to say the book wasn’t good but it just wasn’t what I was expecting.

The mystery itself was interesting though the solving was only so so in my opinion.

This book was a good read and I would recommend it to other mystery lovers as long as I made them aware of the above mentioned points. I plan to read the other books in this series eventually and I am hoping they give me insight into all the things I felt like I was missing out on in this story.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

