Review of Last Writes

Last Writes (A Jaine Austen Mystery, #2)

I mentioned in my last post that I was really excited by this author and going to be devouring her series. I have been down and out with a nasty virus and so have had little to do but read however hadn’t felt up to writing reviews until now.

Summary- Jaine Austen is hired as a writer for the program Muffy n me. When one of the shows stars dies, Jaine investigates.

My rating- 4/5

Last Writes was early in the series and it isn’t quite as much fun stylistically as later books in the series but it was still very good.

Jaine is hilarious and so much fun to follow. True, the secondary characters were mostly stereotypes but they were still lots of fun to read about. Kandi, Jaine’s BFF is fun though also a bit stereotypical. She is the best friend who always chooses the wrong man.

The mystery in murder and resolution in this book is one of the better ones. The Jaine Austen mysteries I have read so far tend to be a bit light on actual mystery plot and detective work but this one surprised me by being pretty good.

Overall, this was a good read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

