Review of Shoes to Die For

Shoes To Die For (A Jaine Austen Mystery, #4)

Summary- Jaine Austen is out with her friend Lance when they visit a fashion boutique. The owner gives her the chance to apply for a freelance position and Jaine is grateful to accept until one of the employees is murdered and Jaine is hired by the woman the police believe did the killing to prove her innocence.

My Rating:

3/5

I love Jaine Austen and Shoes to Die For is no exception. I read it in just two sittings and I did enjoy all the crazy antics of Jaine as she explores fashion though her primary outfits involve pants with elastic waists. At times all the fashion talk did make me feel more like I was reading chicklit than a usual Jaine Austen mystery but then again I tend to be an elastic waist wearing woman too so designer names mean very little to me.

I enjoyed the mystery but the conclusion I had mixed feelings about. On one hand the killer was someone I didn’t suspect but on the other hand it felt very random and out in left field.

Also, this is book #4 in the series and after having read several books in the series I often find the early ones a bit jarring because Jaine hasn’t totally come into who she is yet. In later books she shines more as a character and there is less focus on crazy situations (like speed dating losers as happens in this book) for the comedy.

I recommend Jaine Austen mysteries for a fun entertaining read. Especially if you, like me, prefer your pants with elastic waists.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of Shoes to Die For

  1. needeanshu says:

    Helloooo..Wow.. Sounds like fun and a good read.. Will try to get hold of the book.. Thanks for the lovely review..

Leave a Reply

