Review of The Plain Choice: A True Story of Choosing To Live An Amish Life

The Plain Choice: A True Story of Choosing to Live an Amish Life

Summary-  A memoir of a woman who, after a rough youth, chooses to become Amish.

My rating: 4/5

I really enjoyed The Plain Choice. It is very emotional and in some ways a very personal one to me. I have spent a large part of my young adult life struggling to find my place particularly where religion is concerned so Sherry’s struggle made sense to me though I have to say that I don’t think I would ever choose to be Amish personally.

Sherry’s story was very emotional throughout. This is the kind of book that requires a box of tissues nearby. I could really sympathize with her plight and, while some of her personal choices weren’t what I would have made, it was easy to understand how she came to be who she was. It was a very clear story with enough detail to help me understand Sherry’s story but not so much that I got bored or lost as sometimes happens in memoirs.

My favorite thing about this book was that Sherry is non judgemental about people who choose not to be Amish. She expresses the belief that different religions work for different people. It is so nice to have such perspective as sometimes with religious books it can feel like people are trying to convert you or tell you why their religion is the only or best way to God.

The only thing that could have made this book better was more insight into the Amish lifestyle and beliefs. I have read many fiction and non fiction books on Amish life and I am fascinated by the rules they live by and the way that they are set up. I understand that maybe Sherry wanted to protect sacred things but it still would have been nice for the book to have had more of a focus on what it is actually like to be Amish.

This book was a good read and I do recommend it.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

