Lots of Recent DNFs

Sorry for the recent lack of reviews. I had a streak of 4 books in a row that I didn’t finish. The books weren’t necessarily bad or poorly written but they were so poor a match for me that I just couldn’t get through them. I really don’t like writing reviews on a book that I didn’t make it at least halfway through.

I will list them here though and tell you why they weren’t for me (because they might be for you).

Ten Fingers and Ten Toes by Yvonne Joye- This book is about a mother who has a baby with a heart defect (at least I think so). I really loved the topic and was engaged by first few pages. But then the story jumped back in time an it just slowed down too much for me. It didn’t feel like a book about a mom who found out her baby was going to be born sick and how the family dealt with it. I just kinda lost interest with the flashback and I have way too many books on my to read shelf to stay with a book that just isn’t for me.

Tales From the Backrow: An Outsiders View from Inside the Fashion Industry by Amy Odell. I got this book as a goodreads giveaway so if you are one of my followers on goodreads you will see I put together a very small and vague review because not doing so hurts ones chances of winning other giveaways and I am huge goodreads giveaway fan.

My big issue with this book was just that I expected it to be easily read by someone with almost no background in fashion. It did say and outsiders view from inside the fashio industry but I felt like I was still too far behind in my knowledge of fashion to easily follow what she was talking about and that made me bored pretty fast. It was well written and there were funny moments in her personal life but it just ended up being too much work to read when other books were beckoning to me.

Monique and the Mango Rains:Two Years with a Midwife in Mali by Kris Holloway. As many of you may guess I usually love midwife related books so I was really sad to not love this one. I am not sure if it was the author who maybe said too much in the beginning about how it all turned out. There were many things said in early chapters that I would have preferred to be in last chapter or a prologue (what happened to everyone in the book). It wasn’t a bad book but again it just didn’t click with me.

Geek Girls Don’t Date Dukes by Gina Lamm- This is book 2 in a series that I hadn’t read book one to. It is supposed to be a stand alone novel but honestly I felt really lost early on and like the stuff from the first book the author felt no need to explain at all. I have read many stand alone books in series and while there may be a slight learning curve it was nothing like this.

Additionally I really did not care for the heroine at least as far as I got in the book. I thought she was flaky and annoying.

So, sorry for the lack of recent posts. Trying to find a book that is a better fit for me. Pretty sure I found one and will be posting about it soon.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

