Review of Drape Expectations

Drape Expectations (Caprice De Luca Mystery, #4)

Summary- Caprice agrees to stage a house for her friend’s girlfriend but before the house can sell the girlfriend winds up dead. Caprice has solved a mystery or two before so she decides to find the truth.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/1MBfNtT

My rating: 4/5

Many things about this book felt like a breath of fresh air but are less common in a cozy mystery.

Most cozy mysteries I have read are told in first person which can be awesome or awful. This one is told in third person limited.  At first that really caught me off guard. I can’t say that I loved it but it was a nice change though certainly felt less intimate.

I also loved that Caprice was a home-stager. It isn’t a job you see much in cozy mysteries though book store/cafe/knitting stores are a dime a dozen.

The mystery was decent though nothing that especially stood out. I did have a harder time feeling close to Caprice than I do with many other mysteries but not sure if it was because this is the first of the series I have read or because of the narration.

I think I will try other books in the series but they won’t be at the top of my to read pile.

Overall a decent book to pick up.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

