Review of Working Stiff: Two Years, 262 Bodies, and the Making of a Medical Examiner

Working Stiff: Two Years, 262 Bodies, and the Making of a Medical Examiner

Summary- A non fiction book about how one woman became a medical examiner.

Amazon Link: http://amzn.to/1XRwgCt

My rating 4/5

I really enjoy memoirs and this one was no exception. It was so cool to hear the details of some of the cases that Dr. Melinek saw while she was in training and learning about many of the things medical examiners do.

It was cool to read about the different ways that death is classified by an ME. I never realized how difficult their job could be especially if it is hard to determine the difference between an accident and a homicide etc.

I will warn readers that there is a large section of this book about Dr. Melinek’s work in New York after the September 11 terrorism attacks and for some people (like me) it might be hard to read. I cried through all of those chapters and it was just a but too raw for me personally. I didn’t mind the gore of the story or even the descriptions of bodies or death scenes but the Sept 11 stuff was very hard to read and I personally think I would have enjoyed the book more without that section though it obviously was very educational (mass casualty situations are handled diff than usual deaths) and it helped D. Melinek grow into the doctor she trained to be.

If you have the stomach for and interest in the work of medical examiners this book is a worthwhile read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

