Review of Leaving Time

leaving time

Summary: Jenna enlists the help of a private PI and a psychic as she searches for her mother who disappeared when she was a baby.

Amazon Book Link

My Rating: 4/5

I am generally a Jodi Picoult fan. This book had her usual amazing voice and attention to detail. It is told from four points of view. One of those points of view is Alice, an elephant researcher. I thoroughly enjoyed all the information on elephant behavior in this book. It was enlightening and also entertaining.

This book is one that had me crying much of the time. The description of elephants and their grief and losses was heart wrenching as were Jenna’s memories and desperation as she struggled to find her mother.

Like many of Picoult’s books, this one had a twist. I had an inkling of the twist right before it was revealed but not early on. As a matter of fact, I would really like to go back and read the book again to see what I missed. At first, I was disappointed by the twist and I still have mildly mixed feelings about it which is the only reason I couldn’t give this book 5/5.

This is a good book that I highly recommend. I think it will be most enjoyed by animal lovers because of all the information about elephant behavior. Alice’s research captivated me ( Picoult is amazing to have gathered so much cool information about elephants. She must have been living, breathing, and dreaming elephants while she wrote this for such an authentic feel).

I think that mothers will also really appreciate the book though perhaps being a mother is why I cried through so much of it. Seeing the desperation as a child tried to figure out why she was left behind by her mother is gut wrenching. Is her mother dead? Did her mother abandon her? Does her mother have amnesia and just not remember her? Is her mother being held captive somewhere? Without spoiling the end I will just say that the final answer is ten billion times more horrific than all the above.

This is a good book but it will rip your heart apart while you read it in more ways than one.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

