Review of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

fried green tomatoes

Summary- Evelyn Couch is not at a very good place in life. Her marriage is fulfilling, her children have moved out, and she can’t seem to control her appetite.

While visiting her mother in law at the nursing home she meets Ninny Threadgoode who tells her stories of her childhood including an unlikely pair named Ruth and Idgie.

My rating: 3/5

Fried Green Tomatoes is a decent read but I had seen the movie version years ago and so I went into this read with certain expectations. Those expectations ruined the book for me.

When I saw the movie I thought Idgie and Ruth were best friends. I apparently completely missed the fact that they were lovers. In the book their relationship is more overt. I don’t have anything against lesbian relationships but I felt that the girls as friends resonated with me more than as lovers.

I also think that the movie softened Idgie’s character. In the book she is harder to like. She does have her good points but she is more abrasive as a character in the book version.

Aside from my expectations from seeing the movie first, I also had a difficult time with the format of the book. The movie time jumping didn’t bother me but the way the book flowed felt jagged to me. Sometimes Ninny is telling the story. Sometimes the reader is viewing the story by themselves (presumably because some things that took place Ninny wasn’t there to see or participate in). At times the story is told through newspaper articles written by one of the town ladies. If I could have read the book in just a few sittings it would have been easier to follow but as a busy mom I just read a few pages whenever I can and so I found the format jostling.

Overall I am fairly indifferent to this book. I won’t read it again and I doubt I will ever suggest it to anyone to read but I also didn’t dislike it. I just preferred the movie.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review of Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe

  1. Wow. I read a few pages of this and dropped it. I was thinking of picking it up again at the library but now I won’t. Thanks for letting me know about their relationship. I don’t have anything against lesbian relationships either but I just cannot connect with books that have them. (Having never met one…..that I know of)

Leave a Reply

