Book Review: Murder at Whitehall

25194158

Summary: Queen Elizabeth is blackmailed. Kate, the queen’s musician, investigates. Additionally, a visitor to the court is murdered. Kate had her hands full trying to solve both mysteries.

My rating: 3/5

Let me start off with what I really loved about this book. The author was amazing with period details. I really was swept back into the past and for anyone mostly just wanting to go on a historical journey this book was pretty amazing. I loved how the writer mixed historical and fictional characters. This book was very well done as a historical novel.

I liked Kate. The fact that she was the queen’s musician made her interesting especially since her father had also been involved with music for the royal family. Her own history plus the romantic subplot made her an interesting detective to follow.

The main reason I couldn’t give this book a better rating is that it is extremely slow to start. There are some mysterious happenings from the beginning of the book but the blackmail and murder happen more than halfway through. By the time I got to them I had really been wondering if I was reading a mystery novel at all.

I am a big fan of both historical fiction and mysteries so I was excited to try this book but I ended up feeling like it wasn’t very well balanced. The mystery reader in me was pretty disappointed though the historical fiction part of it was very well done.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

