Book Review: The Graveyard Book

2213661

Summary: One night a man named Jack is assigned to murder a family. He kills everyone except for a baby who barely manages to escape. The baby wanders into a graveyard and is adopted by ghosts. As the baby, who is named Nobody Owens, matures he vows to find the man who murdered his family.

My Rating: 4/5

This book is actually a juvenile book but I very much enjoyed it. I am a huge fan of Neil Gaiman and am always amazed by his creative mind.

I really enjoyed the first chapter of the book while “Bod” was escaping. Afterwards, the book got a bit weird for a while. As an adult reading the book I felt a bit like I couldn’t find the plot. Mostly, Bod is just having all these weird adventures that really seem to have noting to do with finding the killer Jack.

The adventures by themselves are actually pretty cool though perhaps just a bit frightening for some children. This book probably isn’t a good fit for small children who are easily scared. If they can handle “Goosebumps” they can probably handle this book.

In the final portion of the book everything does come together and being told of all Bod’s adventures make sense. After reading the book I thought the whole thing was pretty brilliant. I just had to be patient to get there.

I do highly recommend this imaginative and fun book for older children who like spooky stories. Also, it is a fun read for imaginative adults.

 

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

