Book Review: Fablehaven

44652

Summary:Kendra and her brother Seth go to spend the summer with their grandparents. What they don’t know is that their grandparents are caretakers of a refuge for magical creatures. It seems like it will be nothing but fun, games, and fairies until a witch tries to unleash a demon.

My rating: 4/5

I wasn’t sure how much I was going to like this book going into it. I found it in the juvenile section of the library while my daughter was using the computer. I had heard of the book before and I do enjoy fantasies so I decided to give it a try. I read the first two chapters at the library but wasn’t feeling particularly hooked. It was just okay and I could have put the book down and walked away at that point. I didn’t because I knew it came highly recommended. I am glad I kept going.

Fablehaven starts a bit slow for my taste but once I got into it the story was fun and entertaining. I understand the need for set up and once you get past the slow start much of the setup does become important.

Kendra and Seth are lovable characters. Kendra is a rule follower while Seth just can’t stay out of trouble even though he is usually trying to do the right thing and it just doesn’t turn out right.

I loved all the imaginative creatures at Fablehaven and as soon as I finished book one I went and grabbed book two. I will review the second book at a later date however I want to say I liked that one even better than the first so if you are on the edge of whether to go to the next book after this one I highly recommend it.

I think this book is an overall fun read especially for older children. I really enjoyed it.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

