Book Review: Rise of the Evening Star

784911

Summary: This is the second book in the Fablehaven series. Magical creatures infiltrate Kendra and Seth’s school causing mischief. Due to the strange happenings they return to their grandparents for the summer where three new characters have come to help try to locate an artifact that could destroy the world if put in the wrong hands. Oh, and due to a mishap on Seth’s part there is a giant frog who wants to eat him.

My rating: 5/5

I liked the first book in this series but I liked this one much better. The first book started off a bit slow and this book jumped right on into the action. I really liked that there was not much buildup. It was almost immediately that interesting things (like magical creatures at school) were happening.

I liked that Kendra and Seth both grew during this book and Kendra in particular learned many things about herself. Also, the threat level in this book grew. Fablehaven now is under threat by a very big and bad organization called the Evening Star. Not only are the members trying to find the artifact in Fablehaven but they don’t mind hurting or killing people in the process. Worse yet, it is impossible to know who to trust. I had a pretty good idea of who the “traitor” of the new group was going to be but the ending of the book still really surprised me. Without going into detail I will just say that the traitor casts doubt on at least one other character in the book who we really hope is trustworthy. If the traitor is right things just got VERY bad for Fablehaven and the other refuges.

I really liked that this book built so well on the last book. There were new characters and creatures but because of all the recurrences from the first book it was less overwhelming and there was less of a learning curve.

As with the last book this one had many funny moments and even a few slightly crude ones which I think kids will really enjoy. My girls are a bit too young for this series at the moment but with their sense of humor I think that they will really enjoy some of the things that happen in this book. I read through this book in just a few days. I couldn’t put it down.

I don’t recommend skipping the first book because this would be a hard series not to start at the beginning. I will say though that this one is better than the first and definitely worth reading the series for.

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

