Book Review: Shadows, Darkness & Light

27234561

Summary- This book is a collection of stories about women undergoing tragedies ranging from a rape that resulted in a baby to a husband who died while with another woman.

My Rating: 3 of 5 stars

Review:

I received this book through a book review site in exchange for an honest review.

I have mixed feelings about this book. It was decently written and I do believe the subject matter was important but it was just not a book I connected to even though I really wanted to.

The first story turned me off because I felt like I was thrown right into the book and there was all this description. It was difficult to get my bearings and it was almost like a roller coaster as the character describes her rape and the pregnancy that resulted. I did not get a chance to know much about her before I was thrown into her actual story. I felt throughout the book that there was very little character development which was probably at least partially due to the format which was a short story collection. It was one of those books that I felt bad that something happened to the character because it would be tragic if it happened to anyone but my heart did not break for the individual characters.

My favorite story in the whole book was of an aunt who ended up raising her abandoned niece and who hid the girls true parentage for her even when it caused a rift between her and her adopted daughter but even in that story I did not fully feel engaged with the mother character as a character though I could relate to a mother going to any and all lengths to protect her child.

Another thing that made this book difficult for me was that I do not have a lot of background in African culture and that made many aspects of this book difficult because many things I had to try to understand based on content alone. It is also possible that my lack of knowledge about African culture led to some of the distance I felt for the characters. Perhaps there were intricacies in the stories that I missed. The book also was written in accent (it sounds like someone with an accent telling the story) and that style, while adding to the realism, also made the book more challenging to understand.

I think that this book would be good for a reader who is interested in women’s issues and who has a decent background of African life and culture.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

