Book Review: Grip of the Shadow Plague (Fablehaven #3)

2146957

Summary: This is book 3 in the Fablehaven series. A strange plague is turning light creatures dark. The Sorensons must figure out how to stop the plague before Fablehaven and all of the residents are destroyed.

My rating: 4/5

Fablehaven really needs to be read start to finish and I think it would be impossible to pick up this book in the middle of the series. If you are reading this review to decide whether to read this book solo I say do not. Go read up to it. It is not a stand alone.

Overall I loved this book. Fablehaven is in dire straits and while usually the Sorensons have the help of some of the friendly creatures they lose that due to the plague. Even the usually goofy Doren and Newel are not immune to the grips of the shadow plague.

Centaurs played a big role in this book and I enjoyed their introduction even if they were the biggest jerks in the books so far.

This book also sees Kendra becoming one of the Knights of the Dawn. Gavin is introduced and he is the kind of guy I personally have always drooled over (if you have finished the next book you can imagine how not happy I was about Gavin but I won’t spoil it here).

So, I enjoyed seeing Kendra having a crush on a cute and geeky boy. Seth was his usual mischievous self. Kendra and Seth end up saving the day when everyone else fails to. It was pretty much the same as all the books in the series.

I did like the appearance Patton and the role Lena played in this book. I was so sad in the first book when Lena was returned to the water and I was glad to see her brought back.

I think of all the books in the series this and the last book were the darkest and therefore not my favorites though both books were important to the series and good in their own ways.

I recommend this series to anyone who enjoys juvenile fantasy books. If you like the Percy Jackson series and Harry Potter this book will probably be right up your alley.

 

 

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

