Red Rising by Pierce Brown

I also read this book and wrote a review earlier this year. This reader liked Red Rising much more than I did. It is so interesting to see how a book that one reader loves is not a all that good of a fit for another reader.
There are so many well written books out there but it is very personal whether they touch us.

The Critiquing Chemist

download (4)


Rate: 5/5
Medium: KindleBook

Overview (No Spoilers): Without exaggeration, Red Rising, while being comparable to the first books in the Hunger Games, Divergent, and Maze Runner series, manages to outshine all of them. Well, perhaps I’ll backtrack slightly and place Pierce Brown’s novel on par with Maze Runner, which will always hold a soft spot. Brown, using brilliant, insightful imagery, details a futuristic world broken into many, very distinct castes. The lowest of the classes, Red, is genetically designed for difficult, manual labor, specifically for colonizing/mining Mars for crucial fuel and metals. The complacency of a young, talented lowRed, Darrow is tested when tragedy strikes his content, sheltered community. Brown successfully weaves a story filled with clever twists and an underlying humor that literally made me laugh out loud, much to the confusion of my husband. Overall, read Red Rising immediately before everyone and their brother jumps on the bandwagon! Soon all…

View original post 498 more words

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Red Rising by Pierce Brown

  1. I agree! I’m always surprised when there’s a

  2. I agree! I’m always surprised when there is a book review that is completely opposite with respect to how I felt regarding the book!

    • Whenever I post a book review on Amazon or Goodreads I like to look at the reviews opposite of mine. If I gave the book 5 stars I want to read the one and two star reviews. Sometimes I can somewhat understand where the reviewers are coming from and sometimes not.
      It is a good thing there are such varied books in the market. Something for everyone!

Leave a Reply

