Book Review: RedDress Two Wives

29912109

Summary: Sarah goes to New York to help support her tribes artisan business. . There she meets John  who previously she only knew from phone calls. Lots of really crazy stuff happens and then they get their happily ever after.

My rating: 2/5

I gave this book a 2 star rating but it was closer to a 2.5. I couldn’t quite justify a 3. The book started off strong and I liked the characters initially. Sarah was a bit wild at her introduction but I thought it was mostly young and silly wild. I ended up feeling like it was immature and ridiculous as the book went on and I never really got to like her much even when she matured a bit as she and John’s relationship progressed.

I did not like John at all upon first meeting him. He did get better as the book went on but his first impression made it difficult to really connect to him though he turned out not to be the jerk I feared he was from our introduction.

My biggest complaint about the book was the over the top humor. In fairness, the author warns in the book description that the humor is for adults 18 and older. I generally am alright with raunchy humor but I felt that in places the author took it too far. It went from being funny to being too much. If it could have been toned down about three notches I would have enjoyed the book much more.

This is the only book from this series I have read so it is possible that I would have liked it more if I had started at book one. Now that I have read this one though I do not intend to read the others in this series.

I do want to say that some of the secondary characters were really great. I liked the grandfather who is a bit pushy and maybe a bit old fashioned but has the interest of his family at heart. He wanted to make sure Sarah was happy and made good choices.

The other character I liked it Dangle who is a cat who is not quite a cat. I won’t say more lest I spoil this but there is a hilarious scene early on where there is a concern that he is coughing and the vet is called. The audience knows he has really been laughing at Sarah’s antics. Anyways, the vet has to take the cat’s temperature. Let’s just say that was the scene I enjoyed most from the whole book.

This book was not an awful book but it was one I really did not enjoy. If you like really extremely vulgar comedy than you might give this book a try. For me  it was just too much.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

