Book Review: A Very Special Delivery

1008859

Summary:Molly has no plans to marry anyone. Every guy she meets wants to have kids and she doesn’t trust herself around a baby. Not after what happened to her nephew. Fortunately, God has other plans. Ethan shows up at her house during a snowstorm asking refuge for himself and his baby daughter Laney. With some divine intervention Molly and Ethan might just find that love is possible after loss.

My rating:

3/5

This was a decent inspirational romance but it felt very cookie cutter and contrived to me. Ethan and Molly were pretty two dimensional. Both were defined by their love of God and the worst thing that ever happened to them. There wasn’t a whole lot else to these characters.

Many of the elements of the story felt forced. For instance, Molly’s sister blames her for the death of her nephew though Molly is not at fault. This creates a huge rift between sisters causing Molly to become a hermit so she can avoid her sister. The things that happen to bring them back together made me roll my eyes even as I wondered how two people could avoid each other in a clearly small town in the first place. If I was Molly I would probably have moved instead of secluding myself.

Ethan carries a whole lot of guilt and at times it gets frustrating. He feels bad for his sins which is totally logical for an inspirational romance but at the same time those sins happened before he became a Christian and I feel like if he was a true believer like he claimed he would have understood that he was forgiven and redeemed through Christ. Also, parts of his story felt a bit too contrived as well. I just felt like the author was trying too hard.

This wasn’t a bad book. It was a nice little read and I did enjoy it. I just thought it could have been better.

If you like inspirational romance and don’t mind a bit of unreality this book is a fun read.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

