Book Review: Murder on Gramercy Park

492656

Summary: In book 3 of the series Frank and Sarah must again team up to solve a heinous crime. Magnetic healer Edmund Blackwell is dead. The killer made it look like a murder but Frank knows better. He brings in Sarah initially to deal with Blackwell’s very pregnant wife but as usual she just can’t keep her nose out of his crime.

5/5

I think this book has been my favorite in the series so far. The only thing that would have made it better would have been if there was more character arc in this book. In the last two books I felt like I got rather spoiled with awesome character development. There was some in this book but much less than in the first two.

This book was much more typical of a cozy mystery than the books before it. The murdered individual, Edmund Blackwell, is not a particularly sympathetic character. Many people might have been sad he was dead but as I reader I pretty much felt it was good riddance. He was a good doctor which was the only shame in his death but he treated his wife poorly.

It took me much longer to figure out the mystery in this book and of all the solutions so far I liked this one best. Unlike the last two books the really bad people in the books didn’t turn out to be the killers. It was a nice change.

I love how the author not only creates an intriguing mystery but also looks at some of the social issues of the time. Drug addiction was a huge theme through this book. It was a problem then and equally a problem now (I work in the medical field so I feel strongly about this issue).

I have really enjoyed this series and I fully intend to keep reading!

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

