Book Review: Murder in Little Italy

561726

Summary- Sarah goes to Little Italy to deliver a baby to an Irish girl married to an Italian whose mother owns a restaurant and whose uncle is pretty much a mobster. When the mother of the baby ends up dead Sarah asks Frank to investigate the strange circumstances of her murder.

My rating:

4/5

This mystery was one of the better ones. I often am ahead of the characters in this series but I wasn’t in this case. The killer was one of the last people I expected right up until the end.

I had mixed feelings about how Thompson handled this story. It felt like she wanted to tell a story about the Italian and Irish people in New York of the day and the prejudices that people held against them and that they held against each other.The author mentions that she had Italian family in the author notes. I think she probably did a good if somewhat stereotypical representation of the Italians in the story but for me all the ethnic stuff made the book one of my less favorites. I don’t know if it felt forced or what exactly was off putting to me I just know that I could have done without this book overall.

The only reason I still gave it a high rating was that it is in an amazing series and it did stay true to the elements of that series. Sarah, Frank, and their families are still great characters. The murder was decent and got solved in a satisfactory way. This one just wasn’t for me.

About authorjanebnight

Hello. I am Jane B. Night. I am a writer and also one of the owners of BZ Publishing LLC.
This entry was posted in book review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

